TriangleMeshObject - Static terrain .fbx model

Feb 11, 2009 at 12:15 PM
Hi. I'm new to XNA, and I'm trying to add collisions to a terrain I made.

After searching for how to do this, I found a way to extract the data from de model, vertices and indices.

So now I'm trying to use the CreatePhysicsTriMesh method that is given as example on the JigLibX website to create the Triangle Mesh, but I'm having some trouble doing it.

This is the code I'm using:

static Body CreatePhysicsTriMesh(Vector3 _Position, Model _Model, PhysicsSystem ps, List<TriangleVertexIndices> indexList, List<Vector3> vertexList)
        {
            Body body;
            CollisionSkin collision;
            TriangleMesh triangleMesh;

body = new Body();
            collision = new CollisionSkin(null);

triangleMesh = new TriangleMesh();

triangleMesh.CreateMesh(vertexList, indexList, 4, 1.0f);    --------> I get an Error on this line.
            collision.AddPrimitive(triangleMesh, 1, new MaterialProperties(0.8f, 0.7f, 0.6f));

body.CollisionSkin = collision;
            body.EnableBody();
            body.Position = _Position;
            body.SetInactive();

ps.AddBody(body);

return body;
        }

The error goes back to the method: octree.BuildOctree(4, 1.0f);

for (int i = 0; i < tris.Length; i++)
            {
                triBoxes[i].Min = Vector3.Min(positions[tris[i].I0], Vector3.Min(positions[tris[i].I1], positions[tris[i].I2]));
                triBoxes[i].Max = Vector3.Max(positions[tris[i].I0], Vector3.Max(positions[tris[i].I1], positions[tris[i].I2]));

// get size of the root box
                rootNodeBox.Min = Vector3.Min(rootNodeBox.Min, triBoxes[i].Min);
                rootNodeBox.Max = Vector3.Max(rootNodeBox.Max, triBoxes[i].Max);
            }

ERROR: Index was outside the bounds of the array.

Can someone give me hint? I'm completely clueless to why this is happening.
Coordinator
Feb 16, 2009 at 12:16 PM